Town of East Hampton
Long Island, NY


Reorganize Natural Resources Department


Department:Town AttorneySponsors:Supervisor William J. Wilkinson
Category:Personnel Misc.Functions:Personnel


WHEREAS, the Town Board of the Town of East Hampton has been reviewing the manner in which the activities of Environmental Protection, Natural Resources, Aquaculture and Community Preservation are provided with a goal of increasing efficiency and operation of such services; and

WHEREAS, recognizing the positive contribution towards such services the Town’s Director of Natural Resources can add in the manner of stewardship, competencies and organizational efficiency, the Town Board would like to restructure the provision of the above services so that the activities of Environmental Protection, Natural Resources, Aquaculture and Community Preservation will be under the leadership of the Director of Natural Resources, Kim Shaw; and

WHEREAS, the Town Board believes that the proposed reorganization will allow environmental issues, one of the Town’s top priorities, to be addressed in a focused, cohesive and comprehensive manner; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Environmental Protection Department will now include 4 groups:

·              The Environmental Protection unit will include Mark Abramson - Sr. Environmental Analyst and Margaret Cary-Smith, Sr. Clerk Typist;

·              The Natural Resource Reviews group will include Joel Halsey - Sr. Environmental Analyst, Lisa D’Andrea - Environmentalist 1, and Tyler Borsack - Environmental Technician.  As a result of this reorganization, the Planning department will no longer be responsible for natural resource reviews.

·              Aquaculture will be headed by John Dunne - Bay Management Specialist II, with Katherine Rossi-Snook-Bay Management Specialist 1 and Peter Topping - Bay Management Specialist 1 reporting to John Dunne, and

·              Community Preservation will include Scott Wilson - Land Management Specialist and Andrew Gaites - Sr. Environmental Analyst.


and be it further

RESOLVED, that William Taylor - Waterways Management Specialist - will be transferred to the Harbors and Docks department reporting to Senior Harbormaster - Ed Michaels, and Brian Frank - Chief Environmental Analyst- will remain working for Marguerite Wolffsohn in the Planning Department.

Meeting History

Jun 7, 2012 7:00 PM Video East Hampton Town Board Regular Meeting
MOVER:William J. Wilkinson, Supervisor
SECONDER:Theresa K. Quigley, Councilwoman
AYES:Theresa K. Quigley, William J. Wilkinson
NAYS:Peter Van Scoyoc, Sylvia Overby
ABSENT:Dominick J. Stanzione